Within Vacation Tracker you are able to create different leave types depending on the needs of your organization. Some of the most common ones are:

Paid Time Off
Sick Day
Working from Home

Each leave can be connected to different leave policies which are assigned according to location. The leave policies include options such as "Approval Required"; "Allowing Negative Balance"; "Allow Half-Days"; etc.

Let’s begin!

Go to the Vacation Tracker Dashboard - https://app.vacationtracker.io/signin

On the left-hand side click on Locations. If you are just starting with Vacation Tracker you will see a Default Location where all of the Users will be sent to. You can create more locations or just edit the one. For more information on creating locations, please see the following article: How Do I Create a Location?



Click on the View option at the bottom of any location



In the same window, go to the “Leave Policies” tab and click on the Assign Leave Policy button. This will allow you to add a leave type and assign a policy.
For more information on creating leave types, please read the following article: How Can I Create and Configure Leave Types?



Select the leave type from the drop-down menu and click on Assign Leave Policy

Here you have two options:

To create the leave policy from scratch by selecting "Don't Copy, I'll Start a New Policy"



OR

To copy a policy from some of the existing policies and/or locations



*In both cases you can still edit the information below in case you want to customize. The leave policy options are:

Approval Required - you can turn this option on if the leave requires an approval from a manager.

Allow Negative Balance - gives you the option to allow your users to apply for leave even after they have used up their quota.

Unlimited Days - you would turn this option on if you have a policy that grants unlimited amount of days.

Yearly Leave Quota - if you’re looking to set a quota of days you would edit it here.

Allow Half Days - would be turned on if you would allow that leave type to be a half-day.

If you require your users to include additional information when applying for a leave, you would tick off the Reason Required option.

The Hide Leave Type option hides the name of the leave from all of the regular users in order to provide additional privacy.

Last but not least, the Max Rollover Days is a field you can use to set how many leftover days should be rolled over to the following year for this leave type, for this location.

Once you are done editing the information click Save.
Was this article helpful?
Cancel
Thank you!